IKMG - In-Kind Follow up and Monitoring Group

The IKMG will provide advice to the Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC) and the Council on Cost-Book developments, in support of the FAIR Management and its collaborating partners. The Cost Books of accelerators and experiments are the basis for Member State contributions. Relevant Cost-Book changes might be justified when the dynamics of a project under construction such as design improvements following a Machine-Advisory Committee (MAC) recommendation and/or technical adjustments following Expert-Committee Experiments (ECE) detector evaluation require hardware optimization. The IKMG will keep track of and monitor such on-going changes of the accelerator and experiments Cost Books. The IKMG might also be asked to monitor overall schedule and technical risks in close cooperation with MAC. The IKMG will work in close collaboration with the FAIR Management and exchange information in a fully transparent way. On request of the FAIR / GSI management and the FAIR Project Leader or any shareholder, the IKMG will assist in particular The IKMG will also report to any committee reporting to or advising the AFC and the Council, if requested so by the corresponding committee. The IKMG can take up tasks of related nature if asked so by the Council.

Excerpt from the TERMS OF REFERENCE AND RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IN-KIND FOLLOW-UP AND MONITORING GROUP (IKMG) agreed on by the Council at its 27th meeting on 3 July 2019.


  • Alex Mueller
    ACM Consult GmbH, former chair of AFC - Cost Book Working Group

Scientific secretary

  • Thomas Beier, FAIR GmbH

Members of IKMG

  • Arne Jungstand
    Dornier Consulting
  • Håkan Danared
    European Spallation Source, Chair FAIR In-Kind Review Board
  • Bernard Dormy
    ex Ministry of Higher Education and Research, France, former Chair AFC
  • Jacek Gierlinski
    ex Ministry for Science and Higher Education and UJ, Poland
  • Juha Äystö
    Prof Emeritus, University of Jyväskylä and Helsinki Institute of Physics
  • Lyndon Evans
    CERN, Former Chair of the FAIR Progress and Cost Review Board
  • Rüdiger Schmidt
  • Victor Varentsov